We are thankful for the help and support from all of our participants!

Core Grant Team

  • Julia Flanders (Digital Scholarship Group, co-PI)
  • Amanda Rust (Digital Scholarship Group, co-PI)
  • Des Alaniz (Digital Scholarship Group, Research Associate)
  • Mattie Clear (Design for Diversity Research Associate)
  • Nancy Loi (Design for Diversity Research Associate)
  • Cara Messina (Northeastern University English Department PhD Student, Research Associate)
  • Sarah Sweeney (Digital Scholarship Group)
  • With special thanks to Ayesha Qamar (Northeastern University Libraries graphic design co-op, project icon design)

Case Study Authors

The case study format is central to the Design for Diversity project, and we are so grateful to our initial cohort of authors that put their time and expertise towards writing them. We think that these case studies share the details of methods and processes that aren’t usually shared in other forms of writing, but are the methods and processes that cultural heritage practitioners can most immediately put into practice.

  • Dorothy Berry (Digital Collections Program Manager, Houghton Library at Harvard University)
  • Stacey Berry (Associate Professor of English for New Media, Dakota State University)
  • Kim Christen (Director, Center for Digital Scholarship, Washington State University)
  • Emily Drabinski (Coordinator of Library Instruction, LIU Brooklyn)
  • Alex Gil (Digital Scholarship Librarian, Columbia University Libraries)
  • Karen Li-Lun Hwang (Digital Projects and Metadata Librarian, Metropolitan New York Library Council, New York City, New York)
  • Alison Langmead (Clinical Associate Professor and Director, Visual Media Workshop, University of Pittsburgh)
  • Jim McGrath (Postdoctoral Fellow in Digital Public Humanities, Brown University)
  • Sarah Sweeney (Digital Scholarship Group, Northeastern University)
  • Gabriela Baeza Ventura (Associate Professor of Spanish and Executive Editor at Arte Público Press, University of Houston)
  • Raffaele Vigilanti (Researcher Programmer, Maryland Institute for Technology in the Humanities at University of Maryland)
  • Carolina Villarroel (Director of Research at Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage, University of Houston)
  • Scott Young (User Experience & Assessment Librarian at Montana State University)

Core Design Group and Study Path Authors

The Toolkit Design Group held two conference calls and met in person for a two-day working meeting in Boston. They subsequently worked together online and over the phone to develop a draft of the main grant outcome, the Design for Diversity Teaching and Learning Toolkit. Members of the Toolkit Design Group were reimbursed for travel to Boston and received an honorarium for their participation.

This group gave their time in multiple ways, and were key partners in helping us determine the final emphasis and design of this prototype. The Core Design Group members also created the study paths, especially for this Toolkit, as examples of learning activities that could be implemented in the classroom or workplace. We are very thankful for the participation of our Core Design Group members!

  • Susan Barrett (Arizona State University, Director of Library Repository Services and Technology)
  • Erin Baucom (University of Montana, Assistant Professor, Digital Archivist at Maureen and Mike Mansfield Library)
  • Zoe Chao (Penn State University Libraries, User Experience Librarian)
  • Themba Flowers (Yale University Library, Director of Digital Scholarship)
  • Julia Gray (Riverside Museum Solutions, Independent Consultant)
  • Lisa Hinchliffe (University of Illinois, Professor at the School of Information Science, Coordinator for Information Literacy Services and Instruction at University Library)
  • Purdom Lindblad (University of Maryland, Assistant Director of Innovation and Learning at Maryland Institute for Technology in the Humanities (MITH))
  • Deborah Maron (University of North Carolina, PhD student at the School of Information and Library Science at UNC)
  • Sonoe Nakasone (Community Archivist, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Libraries)
  • Katie Rawson (Emory University Library and Information Technology, Humanities Librarian)
  • Todd Suomela (Bucknell University, Digital Pedagogy Specialist for Digital Pedagogy & Scholarship Department)

Advisory Board

We are also grateful to the members of our advisory board whose work has been inspirational, and who have given their time to help guide the Design for Diversity project.

  • Moya Bailey (Northeastern University, Assistant Professor of Cultures, Societies and Global Studies and Women’s, Gender and Sexuality Studies)
  • Marty Blatt (Northeastern University, Professor of the Practice in History and Director of Public History Program)
  • Kimberly Christen (Washington State University, Associate Professor of English)
  • Wendy Hui Kyong Chun (Brown University, Professor of Modern Culture and Media and Professor of History of Art and Architecture)
  • Ellen Cushman (Northeastern University, Dean’s Professor of Civic Sustainability, Associate Dean of Academic Affairs, Diversity, and Inclusion, and Professor of English)
  • Élika Ortega (Northeastern University, Assistant Professor of Cultures, Societies and Global Studies)
  • Giordana Mecagni (Northeastern University, Head of Special Collections and Archives and University Archivist)
  • Trevor Muñoz (University of Maryland, Assistant Dean for Digital Humanities Research, Libraries, and Associate Director of the Maryland Institute for Technology in the Humanities (MITH))
  • Angel Nieves (Hamilton College, Associate Professor of Africana Studies)
  • Bethany Nowviskie (Digital Library Federation)

Review Partners

We would also like to thank everyone that offered extra time giving feedback and leaving comments, either in-person or online, to help shape Design for Diversity documents and Toolkit. We especially thank those that signed up to be on our critical review partner email list.

Thank you to: Jolanda-Pieta van Arnhem, Elvia Arroyo-Ramirez, Jenny Bossaller, Emily Crawford, Tina Gross, Inga Haugen, Jasmine Jones, Elisabeth Kaplan, Rhonda Kauffman, Jessica Keyes, Stacy Maubourquette, Alyse Minter, Jennifer Nardine, JJ Pionke, Milena Radzikowska, K.J. Rawson, Dean Rehberger, Tamara Rhodes, Roopika Risam, and Kendall Roark.